Being sick is no fun - Reisverslag uit Athene, Griekenland van Rowan Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu Being sick is no fun - Reisverslag uit Athene, Griekenland van Rowan Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu

Being sick is no fun

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rowan

12 Mei 2014 | Griekenland, Athene

Hello guys!
So Monday was another workday in which I got to have a new experience. Alex send me to the bank, to make some transfers. For me this was really strange because who even still goes to the bank to make their transfers?  Isn't it all just Internet banking?  But whatever floats their boat (although I guess the boats in Greece don't really float, especially not the financial boats because of the crisis) but I would just do as I have been told and went to the bank.
When I got to the bank the entrance was already different. They had double doors which meant that you had to enter the first door, then wait in the one square meters before the next door until they opened that. 
I thought that's very different from Holland where you can just walk in. I would say it has to do with the fact that everybody comes to the bank with cash, so there is more if a safety risk.
After I finished working on Monday I hung around the hostel, just reading and doing stuff for myself. That evening we ordered food, Souflaki. We ate really late, around eleven but luckily the Souflaki delivery place was still open.
When I was going to bed, my stomach was upset again. My stomach had been upset on and off the whole day, so first I thought it would be okay. But that was not the case. After around fifteen minutes I got really cold and even wearing a sweater, socks and sweatpants I was still shivering like insane. (According to my roommate I looked like a heroïne addict I need of a shot, so I guess it looked quite bad). Not only did I have a fever, I also had a terrible headache. No fun at all.
The next morning I was in doubt if I should go to work, since I was not as sick as the night before but still feeling pretty bad, I decided not to go. I went down to the reception and asked Briggita to call my boss for me. She immediately saw I was sick and told me she would take care of it and that I should go back to bed, she was really sweet. After that I spend the whole day in bed with my best friends headache and fever :/. Good thing was that Andrew came in to check on my once in a while and that he brought me food (not that I really ate that, because I was so sick). Then at night, it was hard for me to fall asleep because I had slept the whole day, so I ruined my sleeping schedule aswell.
When I was sick I did miss home a lot more than the other days, since this were the days were I would really like my mom to be there and an internship is no fun if you only lay in your bed all day being sick.
So luckily Wednesday I felt good enough to go back to work again and I was assigned a new task. I finished learning about the groups and the travel agency I was now going to learn the reception work. This means I could shadow Mihaella all day, which was fun because she is really funny and friendly and I like her. She told me about the different booking sites they work with and how they write down the reservations in this huge book.
Since I had been really sick I could work only a short day. When I got back in the hostel I went to my room and fell asleep immediately (yeah, so much for fixing my sleeping schedule) and I woke up somewhere in the evening. But then I was hungry, so I ordered food. This resulted in me eating Souflaki at one in the morning because that was the only place still open and delivering. Which is probably not really healthy but oh well.

Goodbye !

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Griekenland, Athene

Rowan

Actief sinds 29 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 200
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4504

Voorgaande reizen:

27 April 2014 - 17 Mei 2014

Work experience in Greece!

Landen bezocht: