"Well, this is quite diffrent" - Reisverslag uit Athene, Griekenland van Rowan Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu "Well, this is quite diffrent" - Reisverslag uit Athene, Griekenland van Rowan Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu

"Well, this is quite diffrent"

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rowan

09 Mei 2014 | Griekenland, Athene

Sorry, last updates took quite long because I have been busy and sick and therefore I just dind't feel like doing anything.

So after the awesome beachday on Thursday, on Friday it was back to work again. The day was like the others, were I worked on groupreservations and bustransfers again, but this day I could do something else aswel. My boss made a deal with another hostel that in June there would be a group coming to their hostel (problably all the hostels that my boss owned were booked for that time, so they would have to send them somewhere else). Since the group made their deposit to my boss, the new hostel should have a the deposit money since they were going to stay there. So my task was to bring the deposit to the hostel. That is a thing here, almost everything is done in cash, even big transfers like this one. So I was send out with almost 1500,- euros in cash to bring that to the hostel, luckily it was only a few streets because I wouldn't have liked to go through half of Athens with all that money. Before he send me out he gave me a few instructions. I needed to ask for one specific girl, she would know about this transfer and also I needed to bring back a conformation form and a receipt. So far it seemed all very doable. When I arrived in the hostel the girl I should speak with wasn't there that day, but I could speak to the boss. The boss seemed nice and he knew what I was there for. He gave me the receipt, but he said he couldn't give me a confomation (he wasn't that nice all of a sudden). Since I was told to bring back a receipt and a conformation I choose to just go back with the money and call my boss. When I called Alex he told me it would be okay if I just got the receipt. So I went back there. When I came to the hostel the boss wasn't there but he would be back within 30 minutes, the weather was nice so I just waited for him in the garden. When I talked to the boss again he was all of a sudden not nice at all, he was not mean to me or something but he had a terrible attitude. He told me "he couldn't do the deal anymore and I should go back". I thought it was really weird but I just went back. When I came back in our hostel Alex was already there, so I told him what had just been told to me. He was obviously really mad at the other hostel owner and called him an asshole and other Greek words that dind't seem nice (it was quite funny acctualy). Not feeling like getting involved into the whole situation and since it was already five ' o clock I finished my working day and went back home.
Saturday was a normal work day, where (luckily) nothing weird happened, but when I got home I saw Andrew sitting in the lobby of the hostel, he scraped his knee a week ago and it got infected really bad. Yesterday he met a pharamcist who told him he should get some medication for it and maybe go see a clinic nearby. Today he visited a clinic here, where they told him he would need to have surgery in the bigger hospital. When I arrived back from my work he was just getting ready to go there. When we walked in the hospital (after spending like five minutes finding the entrance because there was not one sign in English) it was a total culture shock. We seemed to have walked in on a sort of first aid clinic, I don't even know what it was. But there were people sitting around, some really badly injured and they would just be sitting there for everyone to see. There was this one guy screaming in pain constantly and there was even a police man for whatever reason. The woman at the reception desk didn't speak a single word English, which was a real problem for the Asain tourist couple iin front of us of which the woman was obvioulsy in severe pain. I dind't know how that worked out in the end but it dind't seem like they could be helped. When it was Andrews turn luckily a Greek man who was waiting offered to translate for us. They told us we could just walk into the room next to the reception, here was a surgeon who could help us. The surgeon told Andrew that he dind't need surgery but antibiotics and if it wouldn't get better he should go see an orthopedic. Greece, where you ask five diffrent doctors and get five diffrent opinions. So yeah, overall my experience with Greek medical care was everything but pleasant. I really hope I will not need any medical care while I'm here, that would be a real dissaster.
Sunday was a lot diffrent, I dind't really do a lot. I slept in till late and organized all my stuff around the room, which had became a serious mess during the week. At night I went out to dinner with a few people to a lovely restaurant with rooftop seats so you could see a lot of Athens. After that we walked around the Monesteraki area and had a few drinks and had a nice time. Then it was time to get back to the hostel and go to sleep since there would be another week of work ahead of me!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Griekenland, Athene

Rowan

Actief sinds 29 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 171
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4509

Voorgaande reizen:

27 April 2014 - 17 Mei 2014

Work experience in Greece!

Landen bezocht: