And there was a lot of good food. - Reisverslag uit Athene, Griekenland van Rowan Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu And there was a lot of good food. - Reisverslag uit Athene, Griekenland van Rowan Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu

And there was a lot of good food.

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rowan

13 Mei 2014 | Griekenland, Athene

What's up, time for another update,

So Thursday was another day of reception work. I really like the reception work, mainly because it's so much fun with Mihaella and Ionella (Ionella cleans the rooms and she is really nice), sometimes when Alex is not in the office they ask me to take funny pictures of them and post them on their Facebook and ofcourse I'm willing to do that :)
When I finished working I forced myself to go out and eat something, since I had been spending the last few days in my room so it seemed like a good idea to get out. I found a nice place at the Palepestino metro station, there are alot of cafes there. I ordered a club sandwich and a fresh orange juice because I'm trying to eat more healthy since I have been sick. After having a meal I went to the hostel and went to my room. I still didn't feel like doing anything which was really annoying.
Friday was my last working day. Mihaella asked me to go to the bank for her, and make the deposit for her rent. Again there was the thing with cash transfers, I don't see how that is convenient especially since the bank is only open between 9.00 and 14.00 or something so most people are at work then, that's why Mihaella asked me to go because she had to work anytime the bank was open. Because it was my last day of work I asked Alex to fill in.my evaluation form and luckily he was very positive about me! It's always good to hear that people think you did a good job. At the end of my day I said goodbye to everyone and promised Mihaella to come and see her somewhere next week. Before I went home I made a stop at the portrait artist in the street of the hostel. For the past two weeks I talked to him everyday, and everyday he asked me if I wanted a drawing of myself made and I had promised him that I would, someday. I thought this day would be a good day. He was obviously not the best artist out there, but that was not what it was about for me, it was more the interaction with him for the past few weeks and the memory it would be which made me decide to get my drawing.
Also for the first day I decided not to take the metro home, like I had done everyday but walk back. It was about 30 minutes and not that difficult of a route, thanks to Google maps. It was a nice route to walk. When I made a small detour over a square I saw people striking or protesting, I'm not sure what they were doing. But they had signs so it seemed like a protest. I'm not sure where they were protesting for/against since I don't speak Greek. I did thought it was weird that they were protesting since there had been protests and strikes already on labour day. It's probably because there is so much poverty here, and also the elections are here next week.
Saturday was the first day where I didn't have to work, so I could sleep in. After I woke up and got some breakfast I decided to take my camera and go see the city. I went to the Monesteraki and the Plaka areas. It was nice to see, although I had been there before. Around five I went to get a sandwich and while I was actually planning on getting back I met a girl and she told me about some festival. She asked me if I would want to come with here, and of course I wanted to.
The festival was really nice. The focus was mainly on tasting food and drinks. At the entrance you got wine glass so you could try all the different wines. There were many different types of food, classic Greek but also super organic. It was nice to taste all these foods. But there was not only food, there was also a photography exposition and live music. After a few hours I went back, because my feet where tired from walking around all day. And that was the end of my Saturday :)

Have a good day,
Rowan

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Griekenland, Athene

Rowan

Actief sinds 29 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 149
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4495

Voorgaande reizen:

27 April 2014 - 17 Mei 2014

Work experience in Greece!

Landen bezocht: