'Everything is okay here, no worries' - Reisverslag uit Athene, Griekenland van Rowan Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu 'Everything is okay here, no worries' - Reisverslag uit Athene, Griekenland van Rowan Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu

'Everything is okay here, no worries'

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rowan

02 Mei 2014 | Griekenland, Athene

So here we have it, the second update!
My internship is nice, but a thing is the tasks are quite reparative which is not that great. I spend a lot of my time handeling the reservations the groups made. This means that they give me the folder with all the reservations for this summer and that I need to make sure they are written down on this big calender correctly. Since there are many reservations and I need to double check everything I spend a lot of time behind this calendar.
The Students and travellers Inn is not only a hostel in they also have a small travelling agency. When groups book a vacation they also help them with finding other hostel is they want to go to the islands, ferry tickets and private transfers by bus.
The office where I'm working is in the back of the hostel. This means that it's also really easy for the guest to come in here and ask for help with the rest of their journey in Greece. I really enjoy this because it's so much fun seeing those people all excited for the great places they are going to visit (and then I remember I'm stuck in this office for the rest of the day. ;( )
When I'm not working I'm basically never alone. I met so many nice people in the hostel where I'm staying with who I can hang out. My best buddy here is Andrew, Andrew is 29 years old and originally from Ohio, USA. One of the best things about him is that he has travelled so much. He lived in and visited many countries all over the world which gives him many interesting stories to tell. I really enjoy hearing all these stories because I think the experiences you get from travelling are the absolute best you can get.
One of the most interesting / weirdest things he told me was from when he visited the Ukraine. He was there while the whole situation with Russia was escalating and he told me that the U.S. Government actually pays the protesters €50 a day (I'm not sure if it where euros, I could also be another currency though) to assault the police.
This sounded so ridiculous that I'm not sure if I should believe him or not (although I do not quite see what his interest in lying about this could be).
He said that all media won't say anything about this role of the U.S. in the conflict. I don't really know the more about this, unfortunately but I'm definitely going to do some research about this when I get home, there is supposed to be a German documentary about this. So, can't tell all the details but I still wanted to share this with you.
Tuesday I went out to dinner with some people from the hostel and we ate classic Greek food, and oh my! It was soo good! We got a plate with different types of appetisers like meat things and something with cheese and tasziki. Really, I am obsessed with tasziki, it's amazing. For those who don't know what it is: it's Greek yoghurt, with cucumber, olive oil and some spices. It has a fresh taste and it's great for spreads for bread etc. The main course was lamb meat with herbs and potatoes and it was also am-a-zing. Really, I want to find a Greek guy, marry him and force him to cook me dinner every night.
After that we all went out for some drinks, we all talked a lot and had a good time. When I got back and asked for my room key I got another one, because there was a room change. First I was sleeping in a dorm room with two bunkbeds but now I got a rikb with just a single bed (actually two but there was not mattress on the other one so I guess they don't use that one) I still don't know why but I most certainly don't mind. Bad part; did you ever tried moving your stuff in a dark room where there are people sleeping? It's no fun and I tragically lost some things in this moving. But still, my new room is awesome.
Wednesday was an easy day, I went to my work where I took care of the private bus transfer. Since my company organises whole trips they also give the possibility to rent a bus. I got an excel file where I filled when, where and who needed a bus. I don't really have super exciting work or anything but it gives a good impression of all the 'other' tasks there are on a hostel or travel agency, so not only talking to costumers and sitting behind the reception. This gives me a better indication of what it would be like to work in this sector than when I would only do the fun stuff.
Then when I got home I really didn't feel like cooking, or even going out to get food. Luckily Andrew felt the same which gave us a good excuse to order a pizza and watch a movie.
Then it was Thursday, the absolute most awesome day so far, it went so different from what I thought it would go like.
So the thing is, it was international labour day, as most might have noticed. But, here it was not only labour day, there were also strikes. -Side note: I really, really don't understand why you would go on strike on a holiday, since most people already have a day of work.
I knew that the subway line 3 and 4 would be closed, aswell as all the ferries to the islands. I wasn't planning on going to an island, nor did I need line 3 or 4 so it wouldn't bother me. I left ten minutes early, just to be sure because I thought the subway might be crowded with half of the lines not working. My stop on the subway is syntagma, this is the main square in plaka, in front of the parlement building where they also have the changing of the guard thing like in Londen. But when it was time to stop at the syntagma the train didn't stop. Since there were strikes everybody needed a place to go and protest, and take a guess where that was? Right Syntagma square. So I got of at the next stop, took the same line in the other direction and got off as close as I could. Already 20 minutes late and quite annoyed by the inability of the Greek to simply notify the passengers about closing a whole freaking station, I got out the subway, only to find out that across the street there was a Starbucks. With my hostel having the worst coffee ever, the mocca coconut frappechino made this morning a whole lot better.
After a ten minute walk I finally did get to the syntagma square. I could not believe my eyes. There were people everywhere. On normal days it was a nice and quiet square, now it was filled with people. They had megaphones and sings. I wish I could understand Greek so I would understand what they were protesting/striking for.
When I arrived in the hostel Michelle said to me, jokingly 'why you here, nobody here, why you even here?!' (she has this weird sense of humor where she will act mad at you, but she is just joking. This was very confusing in the beginning.) although it wasn't like there was actually nobody here, it was just my boss, Alexander, that wasn't here.
Since I did knew what I should do because Alex wasn't there, I just hang out at the reception. Because of all the strikes all the touristic sights were closed so I wasn't the only with there day  not going as planned. I was standing there with Adam, which I met a few days before when he came for information about ferry tickets. He wanted to go to Delphi but since everything would be closed he decided not to go. We talked about where he could go and the beach seemed like a good idea. He said that if I was not working I could come along which seemed like a perfect idea. I called Alex if it was okay if I took the day off, and we were good to go. Also, Phoebe went with us which was nice because she is really nice. It was also good because I didn't pack my bikini when I went to work obviously so I could borrow one from her.
We took the subway and the bus instead of a straight bus, because of the strikes.
When we got of the bus we found a sort of lake beach thing in something that was once a krater. It was so unbelievably pretty. Of the three of us, Adam was even the most excited. He told us how he still was amazed everyday that he had the opportunity to see all these beautiful places. It felt surreal to him because 'he was just a fsrm boy from Alabama'. It made we realise how normal it is for us to travel and to just see the whole world while it's not like that for every one.
After some swimming we went to lay down in the sun, from which I got the most awful sunburn. When a few hours had past we wanted to get some food. We found a place, it seemed nice but we didn't expect to much but oh boy, we were so wrong. I got a BLT sandwich and it was the best. Even the toasted bread was perfect, someone there has some real toasting skills.
Phoebe already had to go back because she had to  catch her ferry but Adam and I stayed on an other beach for a while. Around half past eight I went back and I was back in my hostel around 21.45.
When I arrived at the hostel and I wanted to get my keys there was another room change. I don't know how they do it, but the hostel was overbooked. Since I was in a double room and there was an other bed left I got a roommate. I didn't mind although I did really like having my own room actually.
One final thing I want to address is my difficulty falling asleep here. The hostel has very thin walls and especially when there are groups, there is always someone talking, or making a lot of noise. Therefore I started listening to my music on my headphones when I'm a sleep, but that isn't quite ideal because then my own music wakes me up once in a while.
Anyways, it's still great here.
Bye bye

  • 04 Mei 2014 - 12:57

    Opa & Oma Weert:

    de groeten van opa, oma en martin uit Weert !! We doen je eerst de groetjes en lezen dan dat hele engelse verhaal !!! Wat een reisverslag, lol Op opa zijn mailadreskun je nog verdere berichtjes achterlaten, dat is goedkoper dan bellen. Veel plezier en tot ziens. de groetjes

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Griekenland, Athene

Rowan

Actief sinds 29 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 157
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4490

Voorgaande reizen:

27 April 2014 - 17 Mei 2014

Work experience in Greece!

Landen bezocht: