The first few awesome days! - Reisverslag uit Athene, Griekenland van Rowan Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu The first few awesome days! - Reisverslag uit Athene, Griekenland van Rowan Meijer - WaarBenJij.nu

The first few awesome days!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rowan

29 April 2014 | Griekenland, Athene

Γεια σας, here is my first update.
I just woke up for my second workday and so far everything here is absolutely AWESOME. My internship is nice, yesterday I handled the reservations for the hostel where I checked on which days the hostels would be full and I blocked off those days on the bookingsites they work with. This was not a very difficult task but it was important, because if I would mess up then there would be chaos for there would be people arriving in an overbooked hostel or the hostel would have a lot of empty beds. It's nice that they give me this responsibility, you can see that they take me serious and not just like 'the intern'
Then my accommodation. I sleep in a hostel of the same chain that I work in and I absolutely love it. Hostel are the best place ever, yes of course it's not very luxurious and fancy but you don't really need that in the end. The people here are so nice, everybody is really open and friendly towards you. Yesterday evening there was an event where people who stayed in the hostel made the traditional food from their country. Not every country, because that would be so much since there are people here from all over the world, but just the four countries of Greece, Turkey, Cyprus and Italy. The food was really good, especially the icecream sandwich from Italy :)
You can see that there is really a different culture here. One of the biggest things is that people are friendly and open. Where as in Holland people wouldn't usually approach strangers here it's normal to just start a conversation. For example, the day I arrived I was very hungry and I also wanted to see the neighbourhood I stayed in so I combined that and went to get a sandwich. The owner of the cafe immediately started talking to me asking where I was from, how long I would stay and he offered me a cigaret. That's another thing here, everybody (well not everybody, but a lot of people) smoke here. Probably because it isn't forbidden in public like in Holland. Sometimes you see a no smoking sign in a cafe but there are still ashtrays on all the tables. Also cigarettes are a lot cheaper here, at least two euros cheaper than in Holland.
The last cultural difference I noticed was that people drink a lot more alcohol here. Since it's advised not the drink the tapwater almost everywhere there are fridges where you can get beverages. Those fridges aren't filled fully with water because 75% of what's in such a fridge is beer. People drink a lot more strong liquor aswel, for example there was a guy at the cultural food event who made his own moonshine ouzo thing. It smelled like ouzo, tasted like ouzo but it wasn't ouzo. Where ouzo is boiled only once this was boiled three times which means there is like 20% more alcohol in it. Gotta love Greece.
When I tell people that I'm from Holland I always hear there the stereotypes, about Amsterdam, the weed, the red light district. Nothing new I guess, although in the hostel people have travelled a lot, also to other cities like Delft, Rotterdam, Leiden and not only Amsterdam. They know a bit more about our culture which is nice. There is this guy who is obsessed with our cows. Not only because we have so much of them but also because they're 'monster cows' he thinks they are insanely big which is really funny.
I feel like I'm learning a lot from my internship, not only the work experience and the culture, but also for myself. Yesterday I cooked dinner (with Andrews help) I know a lot of people think that's not a big deal, but I never cook so I was quite proud. Because I'm in a hostel I have to take more care of myself than when I would be in a host family, and I love that. It's great learning to take care of yourself, also very useful for later.

Αντίο!
Rowan

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Griekenland, Athene

Rowan

Actief sinds 29 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 191
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4501

Voorgaande reizen:

27 April 2014 - 17 Mei 2014

Work experience in Greece!

Landen bezocht: